Doves make a powerful comeback after eleven years, sharing a new track and announcing new album The Universal Want.

‘Prisoners’ is the second single from the upcoming album from the Manchester indie band. It follows the release of ‘Carousels’ three weeks ago, a tribute song to the late Tony Allen. Their fifth album is scheduled to be released on 11 September.

According to Jez Williams of the band, The Universal Want has a strong reference to time, both passed and recovered:

“It’s definitely got the stamp of time all over it” says Williams. “Everything on the album is an echo. It’s an echo of what we were going through at the time” he continues, referring to what the band went through during the time they were away, as well as when they returned for a series of gigs, festivals, and outdoor shows, including the sold-out gig at The Royal Albert Hall.

‘Prisoners’ is a song about how you can get trapped in your own feelings and thoughts: “It’s about actually chasing something and not being satisfied when you eventually get it’ says drummer Andy Williams.

‘The Universal Want’ Album Cover shot by Maria Lax

The above themes of chase and prison are expressed on the track’s video (which you can view below), featuring different scenes from domestic, rural and urban settings. 

The song was recorded at the band’s Frank Bough Sound III studio in the North West and was produced by both the band and Dan Austin who has worked with them on previous albums.

The Universal Want will be released on coloured vinyl, CD and digital editions, plus a special edition signed box set. You can preorder here.

The confirmed track listing of the album:

1. Carousels
2. I Will Not Hide
3. Broken Eyes
4. For Tomorrow 
5. Cathedrals Of The Mind
6. Prisoners
7. Cycle Of Hurt
8. Mother Silver Lake
9. Universal Want
10. Forest House


About The Author

Dora Gardouni

Related Posts