With new album American Head set to arrive on 11 September, The Flaming Lips have released the new ballad ‘Dinosaurs On The Mountain’. This is the third single from the new album, following ‘Flowers Of Neptune 6’ and ‘My Religion is You’.

The video was shot during quarantine in Oklahoma, where the band originate. It was directed by local music video director and graphic designer George Salisbury, and lead singer Wayne Coyne. 

American Head will present thirteen tracks and is produced by The Lips and Dave Fridmann, known for producing the majority of their albums, as well as for his work with bands such as Mercury Rev, Weezer and metal band Baroness.

Talking about the album’s title and concept, Coyne admitted that even though they’re from Oklahoma, they have never thought of themselves as an ‘American’ band until now. This is the first time in their career that they have actually embrace that title for themselves.

 “I know growing up (when I was like 6 or 7 years old) in Oklahoma I was never influenced by, or was very aware of any musicians from Oklahoma” Coyne explained in the press release. “We mostly listened to the Beatles and my mother loved Tom Jones (this is in the 60’s)… it wasn’t till I was about 10 or 11 that my older brothers would know a few of the local musician dudes.

“So… for most of our musical life we’ve kind of thought of ourselves as coming from ‘Earth’… not really caring WHERE we were actually from. So for the first time in our musical life we began to think of ourselves as ‘AN AMERICAN BAND’.”

The track listing for American Head can be found below, along with the video for ‘Dinosaurs On The Mountain’. The album is available to preorder now.

1. Will You Return / When You Come Down
2. Watching the Lightbugs Glow
3. Flowers Of Neptune 6
4. Dinosaurs On The Mountain
5. At The Movies On Quaaludes
6. Mother I’ve Taken LSD
7. Brother Eye
8. You n Me Sellin’ Weed
9. Mother Please Don’t Be Sad
10. When We Die When We’re High
11. Assassins of Youth
12. God and the Policeman (Feat. Kacey Musgraves)
13. My Religion Is You