IDLES have debuted their second single of 2020 titled, ‘Grounds’, and also announced the release of their third album, Ultra Mono, for the 25 September.

“We wanted to make the sound of our own hearts’ marching band, armed with a jack hammer and a smile. We wanted to make the sound of our engine starting. So we did,” frontman, Joe Talbot, said about ‘Grounds’.

Ahead of Ultra Mono’s release, the Bristol band will also host a series of three live performances from a yet to be announced studio space on the 29 and 30 August, which will be professionally recorded, filmed, and live-streamed. Fans who pre-order the album can purchase tickets for the dates they want to watch the show.

Ultra Mono was recorded in Paris and produced by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire) and Adam ‘Atom’ Greenspan (Anna Calvi, Cut Copy).

Ultra Mono will also features guest vocals from Jehnny Beth, Warren Ellis (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds), and Jamie Cullum.

You can see the video for ‘Ground’ below and the tracklisting for the upcoming album.

Ultra Mono Album Tracklisting

  1. War
  2. Grounds
  3. Mr. Motivator
  4. Anxiety
  5. Kill Them With Kindness
  6. Model Village
  7. Ne Touche Pas Moi (feat. Jehnny Beth)
  8. Carcinogenic
  9. Reigns 
  10. The Lover
  11. A Hymn
  12. Danke

About The Author

Debbie Cannon

Music nut from Greater Manchester with an insatiable appetite for new music. Generally found at gigs in and around the north west. Three favourite bands: Sophie and the Giants, False Heads, and The Howl & The Hum

Related Posts