An album of previously unreleased tracks by a plethora of British artists is to be released to raise funds for the Hoods For Heroes campaign, helping to provide personal protective equipment (PPE) for front line staff treating COVID-19 patients.

Songs For The National Health Service will be a one-off vinyl featuring tracks by artists such as Foals, Wolf Alice and Nilüfer Yanya and will comprise of a mix of demos, covers and unreleased tracks.

In matching posts, various artists involved have said: “We don’t believe the NHS should be treated like a charity, but it’s difficult to watch as frontline medical professionals put their lives at risk during this crisis, especially due to a lack of the right equipment.

“With that in mind, all proceeds of this record will be used to directly fund the purchase and distribution of reusable PPE Respirators to protect key workers during Covid-19 and beyond.”

The Hoods for Heroes Campaign was launch by Dr. Natalie Watson at University Hospital Lewisham with an initial target of £30,000 to provide enough ‘PAPR’ (powered air purifying respirators) to help fully stock Lewisham Greenwich NHS Trust.

The album is available to pre-order here, and the crowdfunder for the campaign can be found here.

Below is the track listing:

  • Foals – White Onions (Live from Alexandra Palace)
  • The Vaccines – Internet Disco (Feat. Agent Emotion)
  • The Big Moon – Big (Demo)
  • Wolf Alice – Another Girl, Another Planet
  • Baxter Dury – So Much (Demo)
  • Swim Deep – Lexington Slowdown
  • Nilüfer Yanya – Baby Blu (Gilles Peterson Remix)
  • The Orielles – Bobbi’s Second World (Demo)
  • The Magic Gang – Club Tropicana
  • Spector – Extra Life
  • Sports Team – Itchycoo Park
  • Alfie Templeman – Growing Up
  • Pixx and Jessica Winter – Summer Wine
  • The Wombats – Turn (Acoustic)
  • Oscar Lang – Always In My Head